Thesis Progress

The most popular criticism among classmates was the use of mixed media for only a small portion of the project, though the sentiment was refuted by some of the faculty in attendance as a matter of taste. I’d still like to address it so that I can implement the idea without causing too much visual disparity.

The most popular criticism among faculty was the tapering of quality towards the end of the animation, an issue which I believe amounts mostly to the amount of time I’ve spent working on it. Hopefully I can squeeze another 50-70 hours of work in before the final deadline next week.

Things to fix:
Ending: Animate it
Sound: Add it
Slam: Redo it

Editing: Too rushed maybe? I dunno, the flow feels off. Nobody mentioned it but it’s bugging me.

Other Stuff to Try:
Inside out shot: fade from blue color to b&w at impact shot.
-Maybe add a couple of frames to simulate camera movement instead of a cut? (after important stuff)
Cathead walk cycle: add shadows. I think part of why it doesn’t seem to “fit,” beyond use of mixed media, is because it’s the first shot with only flat colors.

Shots Forfeited:
Reconstitution after impact (skin reforming on skeleton)
Fleeing from Cathead sequence (multiple shots)
Clickbait Sky
Discovering the Heads on Spikes

I feel like I’ve lost a lot of the concept, which was initially a focus on mankind’s ability to cope with maintaining its existence and independence in digital space.

It’s gonna be another rough weekend.

About torinmurphy

Animator in training. Connoisseur of concepts. Today I live to see. Tomorrow I'll live to show. Every day I live to learn.
This entry was posted in Time-Based and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

