Senior Thesis: Process Journal 3

 

characterface

 

mugshot

It seems that, in order to perform as I hope, my character will need a face. I decided to create a face in a similar fashion to the character’s overall design, using simple shapes that would be easy to draw many times.

I found myself defaulting to the stereotypical white male hero and I decided to let it happen. I have no interest in sparking discussion on race or gender with my piece, and although giving the character a face at all is probably going to skew the message at least slightly in that direction, I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s less likely for my audience to question my choice in that regard if I follow the most familiar template.

As for the driving decisions behind the character’s features, I wanted his resting face to give off an overconfident, upturned-nose kind of vibe. If my story is going to have a moral, it will be easier to convey if my audience finds some justification in its outcome. I want them to decide in the end that his fate “serves him right.”

About torinmurphy

Animator in training. Connoisseur of concepts. Today I live to see. Tomorrow I'll live to show. Every day I live to learn.
This entry was posted in Non-timebased and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

